More on journaling……


A friend asked me this morning what I meant by “journaling.”  I shared some thoughts with her and thought perhaps my other scrapbooking friends might find some encouragement in what I shared with her……

Yes, “journaling” is writing down the thoughts of your heart.  Yes, it takes some time, don’t rush yourself.  Sometimes it comes to you in the middle of the night…..all of a sudden.  Other times, it reveals itself to you a bit at a time….it is all part of the creative process!  I can’t tell you either how long it should be.  Sometimes I am very succinct…at other times, I go on and on…..it depends on what spills out of your heart.  It is an adventure, to be sure.

I did one layout for my son entitled, “The Man I Hope you Become”….and I had alot to say there!

Take the concept….the title (maybe one that I suggested or one that just says it all for you…) and speak to that ….yes, write about your feelings and thoughts……let’s see what you capture.  It will be wonderful and perfect because they are the little treasures you have stored up in your heart.  Sometimes I hear, “It is so hard to journal. I don’t know what to say!”  In fact, we all have plenty to say.  I think if you just give yourself some time, quiet and space….those thoughts and feelings are just “screaming”‘ to be released!  You don’t have to manufacture them, just seek them out, identify them and live with them a bit in your heart and mind and then let them live on the pages of your scrapbook.  That result will not only reflect you– because they are authentic– but they will nurture you and even future generations! Isn’t that something exciting to think about?

I am getting far to philosphical for this early in the morning.  Just enjoy the journey. Let me know how I can help.

Melissa 

Leave a Reply

