Stop and notice beauty around you….


I am convinced that scrapbooking has made me a better mother.  What do I mean?  I certainly am more aware of the beauty in the small offerings of daily life.  I realize that the present moment is the future memory.  I know that the time I take in telling my story through my scrapbooks will be something deeply signficant to my loved ones….even those stories that are about the “mundane” things that make up our daily life and routine.  Maybe it is because we recognize that in our over-scheduled and over-committed, crazy lives, we need to look around us and see the beauty that ever surrounds us.

This was a fascinating social experiment.  A national magazine asked renowned violinist Joshua Bell to stand in a subway station in Washington D.C. and play a 1710 Stratavarius violin, valued at $3.5 million dollars.  More than 1,000 people walked by him, virtually assaulted by the music he produced in that subway entrance, without noticing that they had the opportunity to witness greatness, beauty and singular talent and genius. Our business, our agenda, our schedule, our mission of the moment blinds us to the beauty all around us.  Think about this.  Look for beauty. Stop and enjoy it.

Here is the story from the Washington Post Magazine and the videoclip of this remarkable experiment.    

2 Responses

  1. WOW! I read the whole thing and I wanted to cry. It reminds me so much of Jesus. He came and the world did not recognise him.
    I thank you again for the influence you are having in my life. THANK YOU! I thank you so much, I added your blog to my sidebar!!
    Hugs and kisses
    Wilna
    x

  2. Thanks for sharing this article. It is amazing what we miss when we don’t open our eyes and our hearts. I love your banner. What an amazing photo! Have a wonderful day! Kim

Leave a Reply

