Creativity


Stop whatever you are doing and watch this. Radical thinker Sir Ken Robinson spoke at the TED Conference on the subject of creativity….one of my favorite subjects.  He says that our educational system is intent on producing good workers and not what the future needs, which is creative thinkers…….the educational system, Sir Ken says, actually educates people OUT of their creativity.  If you are a mother, you must see this video….it is 20 minutes long and you won’t be able to tear yourself away.  Then, think about its implications for what you do in nurturing and teaching your children.

“Creativity is as important in education as literacy and we should treat it with the same status.” Sir Ken Robinson

[splashcast AOZD1206EE]

4 Responses

  1. wow,, wow, wow, what an amazing blog!!!!

  2. Thanks so much for the advice! I haven’t had a minute to check it out, but I definitely will. Your children are beautiful BTW! I totally agree with your thoughts on scrapping making you a better mom, too. Thanks Again!

  3. Thank u for shaing this. I find ‘education’ to be a set of repetitive memorizations for children – information they spew back to get a grade. I liked Robinson’s bigger picture of how these young ones will be running our world in a few years… what exactly have we taught them? Very thought-provoking when I look at what my kids are in the process of learning…

  4. […] I will take time to:Smell the flowersGive thanksLook at this video from Melissa’s blog.Have breakfast with Jana at A&WTell my husband in words that I […]

Leave a Reply

