Here it is Amy!


My new friend Amy is raising boys and is a scrapbooker (as well as a talented graphic designer)…..she wanted to see the book I did for Andres entitled, “The Man I Hope you Become”  Here are the journaling highlights.

#1. The cover with word tags describing my son (each set with an eyelet and wired into the binding)

#2.  Cherish family.  Cherish your family.  Love your children unconditionally. Make time with them one of your highest priorities.  (Photo: Andres being held by his great grandma who is now in heaven)

#3  Value hard work and PERSISTENCE knowing that success will come through PERSPIRATION not because of talent alone. Home that talent.

#4 Value purity.  …..of heart, mind and body. It will project your joy.  Inside the little frame it says “important” (Photo of Andres with his godparents….his godfather is in heaven already too)

#5  Contentment. I wrote: You played so happily on our tiny 4 x 8 patio.  Then the verse from Phillippians 4:11b  “I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.”

#6 Always find Humor in everyday life.  This with a photo of Andres in a Groucho Marx nose and glasses.

#7  Know your purpose is heaven with the quote “Keep you face to the sunshine and you can not see the shadow.” from Helen Keller……with a foto where half of his face is in sun and the shadow behind.

#8 Choose a Wife. …who shares your values, seeks God’s heart, is willing to put your family goals above her own, and is willing to LOVE you deeply.  The card insert says: I hope you put diligent effort into ensuring that your children get the best education possible. First, recognize their most important teachers are their parents.  Make it possible for your wife to stay home with the children especially during those critical years. Then, tell them early that the university is in their future. It will be a natural thing.”

#9 As a Husband . I hope you continue to date your wife. (make time for you two). I hope you listen with a desire to understand. I hope you will show love for your children by loving your wife. Remember, love is a choice. I hope you will be a respectful, loving, encouraging and communicativwe husband forging life goals together with your wife.

#9  My sweet angel boy, Andres.  I cannot believe that you are already 18 years old! I know it sounds cliche, but it seems like yesterday that I was holding a newborn in my arms, waking those early morning hours to feed you and cuddle with you by the glow of the Christmas tree lights. Later as a toddler, I remember those puckered lips that signaled I should drop everything and give you a kiss…and my undivided attention.  I still feel those warm arms around my neck when you would hug me and squeeze me so tight. These and many other moments are so alive in my memory that they bring an automatic smile to my face.

Over the years, I have talked to God a lot about the man I wanted Him to shape you to become. Those prayers and dreams were so vivid that in my mind’s eye, I could see the future you. You were scarcely three or four years old when I began to pray for your future wife and imagined you as a husband and father. What I only imagined, I know God has been actively shaping and now I pray that you will be obedient to that best life the heavenly Father has planned for you.

I have imagined you as a kind, productive, compassionate, and loving man. My dream has been that you pursue the characteristics of a godly man as your own dream. At 18, that future you is now the present you and I see those characteristics and sensibilities maturing in you.  I am so proud to see you becoming the man I hoped for….the man I dreamed of….the man I asked God to help you become.”

#10 Large photo of Andres “You are becoming the man I have imagined. Love, Mom” This was written on a transparency and I painted acrylic paint on the underside so that the text would show.

 

Sandy here are the other pages:

One is a two page spread with school photos of Andres. Behind the swiveling photos I wrote:  Hijito These photos represent many stages of your life. They have been precious to me. It is a joy to be your mother and see you develop into a centered and confident young man.  I will always be your biggest fan.  Honor God in all you do and you will live your best life!

Remarkable (Remind yourself how remarkable God’s world is.

Make your dreams come true.

Encourage (I hope you take time to encourage others)

Zest for life (Always nurture your zest for life)

Enthusiastic (I hope you are enthusiastic about life)

Forgiving (Life in forgiveness. Offer it freely and accept it gratefully.

 

Next page:  Three “bookmakrs”  One says Jesus: He redeems you. Trust Him. Seek Him.

God. He created you. Follow Him.

Holy Spirit. He guides and nurtures you. Let Him.

 

Next page:  Some random and stream of consciousness lessons shared under the general title “GROWTH”    Commit to daily growth….stretch your mind….think deeply…ponder with amazement…..be curious…..learn daily….life with expectation and anticipation…..Note and adopt the exhuberance and joy of children…..they relish the simple things of life….Solicit the advice of godly people, they will be a source of wisdom…..Recognize that you grow and mature by giving also…commit to growth.

2 Responses

  1. Melissa May I have your permission to use this idea for David as a Christmas gift? He truned 21 this summer and will graduate this spring and I would love to use this precious idea to encourage him. Sandy

Leave a Reply

