Courage


Each year I pick a word that is a focus for me. Last Year I did a mini book on my 2008 goals around the word “ENJOY”.  I really wanted to focus my year around enjoying a deepening conversation and relationship with God and with those in my family that I love and cherish and with my purpose driven work both in Tijuana and with the new mission launch with Concordia.

[rockyou id=97571412&w=426&h=319]

This year the word that has come to me in prayer time is “COURAGE”.  I know that there are things I will face this year that will require courage to accomplish and courage to overcome and courage to withstand too.  C.S. Lewis wrote, “Courage is not simply one of the virtues but the form of every virtue at the testing point.” You can probably guess what my guiding verse is this year.

Joshua 1: 5-9, “No man will be able to stand before you all the days of your life. Just as I have been with Moses, I will be with you; I will not fail you or forsake you. Be strong and courageous, for you shall give this people possession of the land which I swore to their fathers to give them. Only be strong and very courageous; be careful to do according to all the law which Moses My servant commanded you; do not turn from it to the right or to the left, so that you may have success wherever you go. This book of the law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do according to all that is written in it; for then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have success. Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous! Do not tremble or be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.

Leave a Reply

