Iowa friends and Iowa cornfields…..


I was invited to visit Iowa and update some faithful supporters (thanks to my most gracious and lovely hosts, Lynn and Ellie Menz and Kathryn Sprecher) of our work in Tijuana. It was harvest time and unseasonably great weather. It was cool to drive through endless fields of corn or freshly harvested fields.  I had several stops in central, northern and western Iowa….from beautiful little country churches to larger churches, to a hispanic congregation in Denison.  The final event was a banquet for the wonderful IOWAY volunteers who have a passion for blessing people all around the world……we in Tijuana have been the grateful recipients of that blessing.  It was great to prepare the presentation and see the impact they have had in our lives over the four years that they have been visiting us and supporting us.

I realize I don’t do that enough…….count my blessings…..and especially see how unexpected some blessings have been or how very small and seemingly insignificant blessings at the time have become large blessings as they have matured.  I am going to try to do that in my own life more.  I learned also you need to not only see and count the blessings but celebrate them.  Despite the challenges and trials that sometimes occupy much more real estate in my mind that they should, seeing the wonderful things that God has done for me or allowed me to witness or be a part of is so amazing.

“Summing it al up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious — the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse. Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized.  Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into his most excellent harmonies.” Philippians 4: 8-9 (the Message translation)

Leave a Reply

