Angel of Mercy….


Took a break at lunch to run an errand to the fabric store and ran into my good friend Nancy. I had been thinking of her that morning and here she was. What an unexpected delight to run into someone you absolutely love and because of our busy lives don’t get to see too often … in fact rarely, if it weren’t for church!  “Let’s go to lunch and catch up,” she said. “Oh, yes!”  So, we had to be efficient with our time…..I went one way to get my purchases and she went another way.  I finished and went to the cutting table to help her cut the fabric while she put away some fabric she had decided against.

I was standing next to a lady who was having a fainting spell. I was distracted and didn’t really realize what was going on until she came toward me. I grabbed her arm but was unprepared and she felt in dead weight. I was still holding on but she banger her mouth against a shopping cart handle. All I was able to do was break her fall a bit to the ground.  That was all the useful I could be.  Nancy swooped in and sat on the ground so the woman would have her lap as a pillow. The blood from her blow to the mouth began but Nancy in her soothing voice reassured the woman that she was ok and that she just fainted. The blood was only from her lip cutting on her mouth. She helped her stop the bleeding.

Nancy asked her what her name was and if there was someone she could call. Did her husband drive and could he come?  How could she know to ask those questions in the midst of a panic (well, the panic of everyone else)?  She even thought to ask where her keys were so they would not be separated from her. She told her the paramedics would be here to check her out and soothed her by lightly rubbing her back.  Nancy calmly told me to call her husband and gave me his name and hers and told me what to say.  I was thankful for a job to do.

The paramedics came and did their thing. Nancy made sure Ellen’s purse was near her and we quietly slipped out of the store.  We  reflected on the series of events later. We were in the right place at the right time.

I am sure Ellen is wondering tonight who that Angel of Mercy was……

she won’t know it (and that’s just the way its supposed to be) but it’s my friend Nancy who uses the gifts God designed her to have. How do I know God designed her with the gift of Mercy?  Because she slips into that service so naturally. It’s always something amazing and beautiful to behold when someone uses their gifts to serve others.

2 Responses

  1. Melissa,
    You give me way too much credit. God put you and I both there at the same time for the same reason. Isn’t it an honor and a privilege to be used by Him? You calmed me down after the fact, which is when I fall apart. But one thing is certain: you have a knack for recognizing the spiritual gifts God gives each of us, and that is why we are so blessed to have you as our Community Life Director at Concordia. And I am blessed by your friendship.

  2. In my life, I have met or observed many “angels”, but the report on this “angel” was absolutely no surprise to me. God took extra care when he cut the pattern on this one!!

Leave a Reply

