Faith growing…..


The Olympics are in the news and Pastor talked about the discipline it takes to be an Olympic athlete. It does not happen over night. It takes consistent practice.  He challenged us to be consistent in reading the Scriptures if we want to have Olympic-sized faith!  He challenged us to read the bible five minutes a day.  

He said read anywhere, or begin in the Gospels!  

Now with smart phones, we can have our Bible with us always and download http://www.youversion.com  I use this and read the Message translation…..or sometime listen to one of the translations that comes in audio clips. 

Yesterday I was reading in Ephesians 3

Ephesians 3:14-19

The Message (MSG)

 14-19My response is to get down on my knees before the Father, this magnificent Father who parcels out all heaven and earth. I ask him to strengthen you by his Spirit—not a brute strength but a glorious inner strength—that Christ will live in you as you open the door and invite him in. And I ask him that with both feet planted firmly on love, you’ll be able to take in with all followers of Jesus the extravagant dimensions of Christ’s love. Reach out and experience the breadth! Test its length! Plumb the depths! Rise to the heights! Live full lives, full in the fullness of God.

I so want to live this full life…..full to the brim!  I want to use everything God has given me and accomplish everything He has for me to do and not leave one opportunity un-seized.  I know I let Him down routinely, but these verses remind me that God’s love and His power is what gives the “full life”.  I am so grateful.  I want to be strengthened by His Holy Spirit. My job?  To keep my feet firmly planted in love.  What a great job!  Great but not always easy. Lord send your Holy Spirit, that we may be filled to overflowing with love and serve others from the fullness that you give.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

