Sweet words…..


I am cleaning out my mother’s house and going through boxes upon boxes of papers.  My sweet mom saved every invitation, every receipt, ever gift packaging, etc.  She also saved all the sweet and cute letters and drawings that we would give to her….and about 7 inches thick of letters I wrote to her when studying in Spain and apparently all my school papers through law school (w xerox copies!).

I am reminded of how my mother always had sweet words for us and expressed them as part of her everyday speech.  I recently heard the story that she learned to use sweet words from a co-worker who would talk to her daughter over the phone and speak to her sweetly.  My mother decided right then that she would speak this way too.  She hadn’t learned this from my grandparents who despite being very loving, grew up in a generation and during a time that people weren’t that expressive or sentimental with their words.  I speak that way to my children and if you are around me you will probably hear me call you “hon” too!  Sweet words….they started with my mom….and they will impact the generations that come after her.

Proverbs 16:24

English Standard Version (ESV)

24 Gracious words are like a honeycomb,
sweetness to the soul and health to the body.

In my mother’s boxes I found this valentine she wrote to me in 1998:

One Response

  1. How very sweet and meaningful. I’m sure she still feels the same way and i couldn’t agree with her more!

Leave a Reply

