God listens….and is working.


From my YouVersion reading verse of the day:

“I love God because he listened to me, listened as I begged for mercy. He listened so intently as I laid out my case before him. Death stared me in the face, hell was hard on my heels. Up against it, I didn’t know which way to turn; then I called out to God for help: “Please, God!” I cried out. “Save my life!” God is gracious—it is he who makes things right, our most compassionate God. god takes the side of the helpless; when I was at the end of my rope, he saved me.” Psalm 116:1-6

Some weeks you need to beg for mercy and remember that God has extended the “life preserver” and saved us.  This week has been one of those weeks when my heart has been a little squeezed and I have cried with those suffering and rejoiced with those celebrating.  I have “virtually” held the hand of a friend who texted me updates from the ER where her mom was having series issues and rejoiced with her at good results after tests had been run. SORROW THEN JOY. I have held a loved one tight and felt my heart break. SORROW  I have held a loved one tight and been grateful for a celebration!  JOY  I have seen relationships been restored that were broken and I have been profoundly grateful. JOY I have suffered with a friend who lost a 21 daughter to drugs and aids. SORROW.   I have celebrated a milestone and birthday with a loved one and recognized my deep blessing through her life. JOY.  I saw new people connect with God this weekend and experience Him in a new way. JOY.

Through it all I am mindfully recognizing that God is working…..that He hears my cries for MERCY and in fact He acts and saves and NEVER lets go.  We can’t help ourselves. Thankfully, the power of His love is complete in the person of Jesus. It’s a good thing to remember this today……today and every day.

Leave a comment