A lasting impact….


We are studying the book of Nehemiah in our message series and home groups. What a great opportunity to put some “legs” on and “heart” on a teaching when you have an opportunity to think about it, apply it to your own life and pray God makes that teaching alive in you.

Two new gals showed up to my home group last night and usually this takes a bit of time to get to a comfort level….but last night there were deep connections with each other and God’s Holy Spirit. It was a powerful time of testimony and prayer. We all looked at each other and knew it had happened in a deep way.

Taking time to connect with others and with God is a powerful thing.  Sometimes the smallest gesture, word, compassionate glance, can mean so much.

As I have been going through tax records and receipts (from all the way back to the 60s) since my mom moved in with us, I have been coming across bits and pieces of memorabilia that I am pulling to save. I found a letter from my grandfather that he wrote me in the 80s. Grandfather was a wonderful and loving grandfather.  In this letter he thanks me for a “beautifully worded” card and that it made him “feel like he was in heaven.”  He strayed in this letter from the prescribed greeting that he learned should begin every letter.  It was different.  I have no idea what made an impact on him.  He took the time to tell me.  And now…..decades later, I get to enjoy how much I was loved and how wonderful it was to have him in my life so close and for so long.  I reflect on the many little things he did for me that made me feel secure as I grew up without a dad.  They were many little things. Those little things were actually the big things.  I want to be remembered that way by the people in my life that I love and care about.  It starts and ends with little things.

Take the time, I have to remind myself, to show those whom you love — and yes, use your words– that they mean so much to you.  It will make a difference in your life now and perhaps many decades from now.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

