Grateful.


What an amazing night last night.  Andres gave his senior recital which was a worship concert. This was a kind of final exam in preparation of finishing his music degree with an emphasis in worship leading at San Diego Christian College which happens in December.  Some of his amazingly talented friends played with him. I am sure they put in countless hours with Andres. What beautiful friendships.

I am his biggest fan but even I was unprepared for the evening Andres had carefully prepared.  They performed 10 songs and it was gripping. It was intense and by the intermission I was exhausted!  It was great to see so many good friends from the neighborhood, school and church — including his guitar teacher and Pastor — to encourage Andres and celebrate this night which in many ways is a culmination of many years of study and preparation (about 6 years). That was special.  My best friend from high school even drove down from Ventura with her husband to be part of Andres’ special night.

I was so grateful to experience this night with my son….and have Elizabeth, my mom (and my niece Sara and nephew Memo) with me made it perfect.

There were so many new songs I had never heard. Beautiful songs with profound messages of faith.

I loved his introduction to a new arrangement of “How Great Thou Art”.  He talked about loving this hymn and remembering singing it as a child in church.  It made me think what a privilege it was to raise him in the church.  It made me think about when he was a young child.  I would sing to the children from the old hymnal after our prayer time and they were tucked into bed. He loved those reformation hymns in minor keys even as a young child and would sing on key.  I remember he loved to “conduct” and sing “Thy Strong Word.”  That should have given me an inkling he might grow up to be a musician.  What beautiful memories flooded my mind as I was enjoying the evening.  Everyone said I was beaming. Yes, I was.  I was beaming with pure joy and gratitude.

I loved the comment of one of his friends who posted on facebook after the performance a simple “Mind. Blown”  That’s how I felt too.  Thank you, Lord.

One Response

  1. Congratulations to Andres and to you🙂

Leave a Reply

