Home Group Joy


I am joining 5 of the home groups and plan on popping in on another few before our current series is over. What a joy it is to see what God is doing in the lives of people as they share their stories and learn from God’s Word andfrom  each other.

I am humbled by the beautiful and thoughtful contributions of John.  After a series of strokes took away his ability to speak he found his voice through a little computer and the writing he does at length at home on his computer.  His story and faith has made an impact on me and others in this group.  I love his humor too.  When I ask who wants to read the next section, he invariably raises his hand.  I am humbled by his wife Vera’s words of admiration for her husband and how his faith and trust in God is so strong.  I think of what an amazing example he is to us at Concordia and young families when they see him get to church despite many challenges that certainly must be part of his daily life.  I love to see how his adult children and their families come to Concordia so that the extended family can worship together.  What a wonderful example to other families at Concordia. The influence of a godly man always speaks loudly….John, don’t ever doubt this, my friend.

John allowed me to share this excerpt of something he wrote that was read to our home group by his wife Vera one evening.

“People wonder, including my family how l don’t fall into a deep depression,

mourning for the parts of me that l have lost. But l don’t see it that way. l don’t have time to

look back when there is so much to iook forward to. We will all face adversity in life. This was

just some of mine.  To put it simpiy the one steadfest thing in iife is just God, me and my faith. And that is what I hold onto as l take each step in life.”

As you can imagine….we were speechless after the reading of this piece of writing. It was a sacred moment….and it made a big impact on me.

Here is a photo of John at our group when in the discussion he responded through his machine: “If everything goes great, how would we appreciate God?”

john

I was humbled by the discussion of two young women at another group.  Their deep desire to grow closer to God and see their faith grow is beautiful.  Their desire to be a godly influence on people around them and especially, each to her husband and child, is beautiful. In a safe environment, they ask questions about the movement and purposes of God and are anxious to learn more. It is such a privilege for me to be a person they can discuss these spiritual questions with.

I was humbled by the example of young women who gather and meet late after their children are in bed and (with their husbands help and support) they can carve out time to dedicate to an exploration of God’s truth and Word and to pray together.  Prayer time is so beautiful.  I love to hear the expressions of prayer by the different groups. In all instances, it is beautiful to see people come real and raw before the Lord with their everyday struggles.

Our lessons of the signs of God…His transformative power and perfect provision has spoken deep into the lives of people.  I am honored to be a part of these groups.

Leave a Reply

